Optima Tyler publishes this guide. The locally owned clinic has one physical location in Tyler and added Texas telehealth for patient convenience.
The guide names no overall winner. Your access needs and clinical situation determine which option fits.
Abilene residents can visit a local clinic for weight-loss care or consider Texas telehealth through Optima Tyler’s medical weight-loss program. Optima Tyler is a locally owned clinic with one physical location in Tyler. It added telehealth for eligible Texas patients, so an Abilene patient would receive remote care unless they arranged a visit in Tyler. Patients can ask whether an in-person Tyler appointment is available.
The local options in this guide are Hendrick Body and Wellness, Healthtec, and Thrive Care Medical Clinic. Thrive Care remains a conditional option because its website lists conflicting ZIP codes and phone numbers. Confirm its address and current weight-loss program before visiting.
As you compare the four options, ask how each clinician evaluates patients, how often follow-up occurs, and whether visits require travel. Ask which medication you would receive and whether it is an FDA-approved product or a patient-specific compounded prescription. Those details can affect which option fits your care needs.
As of October 26, 2026, the published details below show how Abilene office visits compare with Optima Tyler’s Texas telehealth weight-loss program. Ask each clinic to confirm details it does not publish.
Hendrick Body and Wellness offers in-person medical weight-loss care at 1888 Antilley Road, Suite 200, in Abilene. Its site lists access to a registered dietitian and an on-site lab draw station. If you want nutrition counseling and a place to have blood drawn during clinic visits, ask how those services fit into your treatment plan.
Hendrick’s site also lists care for people who have plateaued or regained weight at least a year after bariatric surgery. A notice on the site says Ashley Bradshaw, MD, will stop practicing with Hendrick Clinic Bariatric Surgery and Hendrick Clinic General Surgery effective November 15, 2026. As of this guide’s October 26, 2026 research date, that change had not yet taken effect. The notice says medical weight-loss and nutrition services will continue under Adlene Jebakumar, MD, with Andrea Levrets, FNP, and Bridget Rak, RD.
Hendrick does not publish weight-loss pricing or identify a medication brand or formulation on the page reviewed. Before enrolling, ask which visits, labs, and dietitian appointments carry separate charges. If medication is part of your plan, ask whether the clinic prescribes an FDA-approved product or a patient-specific compounded formulation.
Healthtec offers an in-person medical weight-loss program at 1 Village Drive, Suite 350, in Abilene. You start with a consultation to discuss your goals and a treatment plan that may include semaglutide or tirzepatide injections. Healthtec describes regular check-ins and plan adjustments, but its weight-loss page does not specify how often those check-ins occur.
Healthtec also offers Emsculpt NEO body contouring and Styku 3D body scans. Emsculpt NEO targets body shape, while Styku records body measurements. Neither replaces the consultation or injectable medical weight-loss treatment.
As of October 26, 2026, Healthtec’s page does not publish pricing or say whether patients receive FDA-approved products or compounded medications. Before enrolling, ask which formulation you would receive and request a written breakdown of consultation, medication, follow-up, lab, and supply costs.
Thrive Care may suit Abilene residents who want to discuss weight loss in a primary-care setting, but its location and current program need direct confirmation. Its website lists 1326 South 14th Street, Suite D, with ZIP code 79602 in one place and 79606 in another. It also gives two phone numbers, 325-275-7932 and 325-352-0148. A patient relying on either listing could call the wrong number or arrive at an unconfirmed location.
The website names semaglutide and Mounjaro and says it sources medications from compounding pharmacies. That wording does not establish that Thrive Care dispenses branded Mounjaro or identify the formulation of each medication. The page describes support by call or text, but it does not publish pricing or a follow-up schedule. Before visiting, call to confirm the address, working phone number, current weight-loss program, medication formulation, clinician oversight, and full cost.
Optima Tyler is a locally owned clinic with its only physical location in Tyler. It added Texas telehealth, so eligible Abilene patients can receive remote care rather than travel to Tyler. Patients can ask about scheduling an in-person visit at the Tyler clinic, but appointment availability requires confirmation.
As of October 2026, Optima’s medical weight-loss program lists $249 for an initial 10 weeks of compounded semaglutide or $349 for an initial 10 weeks of compounded tirzepatide. Both prices include the provider consultation, medication, supplies, shipping, and a meal plan. Optima says no labs are required to start, but its page does not say whether a provider might order them later. The clinic is cash-pay and does not accept insurance.
Continuation costs depend on the prescribed dose and are separate from the initial offer. For semaglutide, the published options are $249 for about seven weeks at the finishing dose or $339 for eight weeks when stepping up to 1 mg weekly. For tirzepatide, they are $449 for 10 weeks at 4 mg weekly or $599 for 10 weeks at 6 mg weekly. Each continuation price includes a provider visit, medication, supplies, and shipping. Optima discusses continuation with the patient rather than renewing or charging automatically.
FDA-approved products provide standardized formulations and labeled dosing. Optima instead offers patient-specific compounded medication from a licensed Texas pharmacy, supplied in a vial for injection with a syringe. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved and should not be assumed equivalent to approved products. A licensed provider must determine whether documented medical needs warrant compounding when an approved product does not adequately meet them, then prescribe and explain the patient’s treatment. Patients should follow their prescription and provider instructions rather than change their dose or injection schedule themselves.
FDA-approved GLP-1 medications provide standardized formulations and labeled dosing. A compounded formulation can instead address an individual patient’s documented medical need when an approved product does not adequately meet that need. A licensed clinician must determine whether compounding is appropriate. Lower cost alone does not establish medical necessity.
The FDA explains that compounded medications are not FDA-approved, so the agency does not review each compounded product for safety, effectiveness, or quality before it reaches patients. Compounding can still be a legitimate patient-specific pathway. A medical encounter, an individual prescription, sourcing through a licensed pharmacy, injection education, and follow-up help a clinician prescribe and monitor that pathway. Patients should follow their prescribed dose and schedule rather than change either on their own.
Optima Tyler’s medical weight-loss program uses compounded semaglutide or tirzepatide, not branded prefilled pens. The Abilene clinic pages reviewed do not clearly establish whether the medication each patient would receive is FDA-approved or compounded. Ask Hendrick Body and Wellness, Healthtec, or Thrive Care to identify the exact product and formulation they would prescribe. If a clinic proposes a compounded medication, ask what patient-specific need it addresses, which pharmacy supplies it, and how the clinician will manage follow-up.
Hendrick Body and Wellness offers services that require a trip to its Abilene clinic. Its on-site lab draw station, registered dietitian, and body composition machine may suit you if you want measurements and nutrition visits in person. Healthtec starts with a consultation at its Abilene office and describes regular check-ins. Its published description does not specify whether every check-in takes place there.
Optima Tyler’s medical weight-loss program offers remote visits with Daniel Black, FNP-C, or Travis Squyres, FNP-C, to eligible Texas patients. Optima is a locally owned clinic with one physical location in Tyler, and it added Texas telehealth so patients outside Tyler can seek care without driving there for a prescription conversation. A provider visit is also part of a continuation decision, rather than an automatic renewal.
If you need an in-person lab draw or hands-on body composition tracking, ask a local clinic how those services fit into your treatment and follow-up. If remote visits better fit your schedule, ask Optima how it handles monitoring and any labs a provider may order. Abilene patients can also ask about scheduling an in-person visit at the Tyler clinic, but they should confirm availability before making the trip.
As of October 2026, Optima Tyler’s published medical weight-loss prices distinguish the initial offer from later treatment. The first 10 weeks cost $249 for semaglutide or $349 for tirzepatide. Each initial price includes a provider consultation, medication, injection supplies, shipping, and a meal plan. Optima says labs are not required to start, but its page does not say whether a provider might order them later.
Continuation prices depend on medication and dose. Semaglutide costs $249 for about seven weeks at the finishing dose or $339 for eight weeks if increased to 1 mg weekly. Tirzepatide costs $449 for 10 weeks at 4 mg weekly or $599 for 10 weeks at 6 mg weekly. Those prices include a provider visit, medication, supplies, and shipping. Optima says continuation requires a new conversation rather than an automatic renewal.
On the pages reviewed October 26, 2026, Hendrick Body and Wellness, Healthtec, and Thrive Care publish no program prices. Thrive Care’s address and current program also need direct confirmation. Ask any clinic for a written breakdown of visits, medication, labs, supplies, and shipping before enrolling. Without those figures, you cannot responsibly estimate a total or compare it with Optima’s published prices.
Choose Hendrick Body and Wellness if you want in-person access to a dietitian and an on-site lab draw station. If you prefer a local consultation with regular check-ins, ask Healthtec how often follow-up visits occur and what they include.
For remote visits, Optima Tyler’s medical weight-loss program offers telehealth to eligible Texas patients. Optima is a locally owned clinic that added telehealth for convenience, but its only physical location is in Tyler. You can ask whether an in-person Tyler visit can be scheduled. Before considering Thrive Care, confirm its Abilene address, phone number, and current program directly because its published contact details conflict.
Ask each finalist for a written breakdown of initial and continuation costs, including visits, medication, labs, supplies, and shipping. Confirm the exact medication and whether you would receive an FDA-approved product or a patient-specific compounded prescription. Ask who will oversee treatment and how follow-up works. If you want to explore Optima’s remote option, you can book a telehealth consultation.